Diversidad cultural: Mexican embroidery & weaving

Mexico is a diverse country, home to 68 indigenous communities. Each community has its own traditions and customs and one can appreciate it for example in the materials used in the elaboration of handcrafted pieces. Also the cosmogony of the community comes into play, which is often integrated into the weaving & embroidery of the fabric pieces that are often used as clothing.

For example, we find the otomi embroidery called “Tenango”, the huipils elaborated in the state of Oaxaca, the Mexican state which hosts the most indigenous communities like the Mixe, the Zapotec, the Mazatec, the Amuzgue, between other.

In the Mixe tunic of Santa Maria Tlahuitoltepec, we find allusion to the Sierra Mixe and its rivers, mountains, fauna and flora. It is difficult to say only the term “Mexican embroidery” because there are communities that elaborate weavings which integrate elements of daily life and their very special relationship with nature. Like the Amuzgue community that inhabits the state of Guerrero, it is also found in parts of the state of Oaxaca. The Nahua community of the North Sierra de Puebla & de la Huasteca are also characterized for their colorful and meaningful weavings. We also find the weavings of the Tzotziles and Tzeltales communities with their Mayan symbols. In this month so significant for Mexico, here is a non-exhaustive selection of some Mexican embroideries and weavings to share with you the richness of the colors and cultures of Mexico. If you want to find out more, take a look at our communities.

Leave a comment

Diversidad cultural: broderies & tissages mexicains

Le Mexique est un pays divers, qui accueille 68 communautés autochtones. Chaque communauté a ses propres  traditions et coutumes et on peut l’apprécier par exemple dans les matériaux utilisés dans l’élaboration de pièces artisanales. Aussi rentre la cosmogonie de la communauté qui est souvent intégrée dans  les tissages & broderies des pièces en tissu qu’on utilise souvent comme habillement.

 Par exemple, on trouve la broderie otomi appelée “Tenango”, les huipils élaborées dans l’état d’Oaxaca, l’état mexicain qui accueille le plus des communautés indigènes comme la Mixe, la zapotèque, la mazatèque, l’amuzgue, entre autres. 

Dans la tunique Mixe de Santa Maria Tlahuitoltepec, on trouve allusion à la Sierra Mixe et ses rivières, les montagnes, la faune et la flore. Il est difficile de dire seulement le terme  “broderies mexicaines”  car il existent des communautés qui élaborent des tissages où intègrent éléments de la vie quotidienne et leur relation très spéciale avec la nature.  Comme la communauté Amuzgue qui habite l’état de Guerrero, on la trouve aussi dans des régions de l’état d’Oaxaca. La communauté Nahua de la Sierra Nord de Puebla & de la Huasteca se caractérisent aussi pour leurs tissages colorés et pleins de significations. On trouve aussi les tissages des communautés Tzotziles et Tzeltales avec leurs symboles Mayas. Dans ce mois si significatif pour le Mexique, voici une sélection non exhaustive des quelques broderies et tissages mexicains pour partager avec vous les richesses des couleurs et cultures du Mexique. Si vous voulez découvrir plus, jetez un coup d’oeil sur nos communautés. 

Laisser a commentaire