Basket (0) Close
No products in the cart.

Mexico, a country of colors

Writtten by: Miguel Sosme

Mexico is a diverse country, diverse in its culture, its languages, customs, traditions, landscapes, ecosystems and natural environments. It is the country of Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera, cradle of millenary civilizations with high cultural development such as the Mayans, Aztecs, Zapotecs, Mixtecs and Totonacs. The nation of the Day of the Dead, of the stone pyramids and palaces, of the jungles, the exotic beaches, the white sand and the turquoise water of Cancun. Mexico is a nation as complex as the Mexicans.

However, many times there is a diffuse vision among foreigners about the country and its people. To begin with, we must point out that Mexico is not South America, as Americans sometimes suppose, nor is it in this region, as some Europeans infer. On the contrary, Mexico is a country located in North America, south of the United States. It is the economy number 1 in Latin America, the third in America and the 13th in the world.

It is also the fifth country with the greatest biodiversity, the seventh with the most sites recognized as World Heritage Sites, number 7 in tourism and the birthplace of 3 of the most important filmmakers of the last decade: Guillermo del Toro, Alejandro González Iñárritu and Alfonso Cuarón.

It is a sovereign nation in which various ethnic groups coexist, among which 68 indigenous groups stand out with their own cultures, languages ​​and ways of life. Indigenous people make up a significant “minority” of almost 15 million people (the same number as the combined populations of Norway and Switzerland).

In this country of 220 million inhabitants, the predominant population is of mestizo origin, the result of the racial and cultural mixture of indigenous people and Europeans throughout the colonization and migration processes that began in the 16th century. Currently, mestizos, but especially whites, exert a strong influence on the economic and socio-cultural life of the country.

In this sense, one of the crudest and most complex realities in Mexico is precisely the social inequality based on ethnicity and skin color, a structural and historical problem, a result of Spanish colonization and the exploitation of white elites over the Majority of the population. Indeed, Mexico achieved its political independence from Spain in 1821, however, colonial practices persist to this day and are expressed in the grabbing of wealth and power in the hands of a reduced elite, the exclusion and marginalization of indigenous peoples. , the denial of their presence, and the unequal distribution of state benefits.

Despite the historical denial of the native peoples, the country is experiencing a cultural flourishing that celebrates cultural richness and that strives for the revitalization of the traditions and artistic expressions of indigenous communities. The creators themselves have turned to their past to document, rescue and disseminate the cultural heritage of their ancestors, and numerous cultural and commercial projects have prospered with the slogan of feeding pride in what is handmade by indigenous artisans.

This “renaissance” can be explained to a large extent by the market and the appreciation of the authentic from tourism. Many foreigners visit Mexico attracted by its diversity, its color, gastronomy, festive atmosphere and exotic beaches. However, they are also attracted by its wide cultural offer in which creative productions with their own stamp abound.

In this sense, artisanal production has become one of the most prosperous industries of the creative economy in Mexico. An important aspect is that it maintains a clear indigenous influence that is manifested in its color, exuberance and technical complexity. This overflowing explosion of textures and color festivity tends to dazzle and disconcert travelers, but it is a clear expression of the relationships that creators establish with the environment. In other words, Mexican art is colorful because the natural environment of Mexico is.

Likewise, among indigenous creative production, it is worth mentioning textiles, a cultural and economic production in which authentic communication systems are noted, by which origin, gender, class, marital status and especially, are expressed. the worldview of native peoples. Indeed, textiles express stories associated with the creation of the universe, the territory, the crops, and life itself. Various garments such as rebozos, huipiles and overcoats or ponchos have been an important reference in the construction of Mexicanness, and are today a reason to claim a denied identity.

In this way, artisan production is a window to the “deep Mexico”, to the poorest and most excluded Mexico that today is reborn and flourishes thanks to the determination of indigenous groups and the power of their creativity.

Ecrit par: Miguel Angel Sosme 

Le Mexique est un pays diversifié dans sa culture, ses langues, ses coutumes, ses traditions, ses paysages, ses écosystèmes et ses environnements naturels. C'est le pays de Frida Kahlo et de Diego Rivera, berceau de civilisations millénaires à fort développement culturel comme les Mayas, les Aztèques, les Zapotèques, les Mixtèques et les Totonaques. La nation du Jour des Morts, des pyramides et palais de pierre, des jungles, des plages exotiques de sable blanc et aux eaux turquoises de Cancun. Le Mexique est une nation aussi complexe que les Mexicains.

Cependant, les étrangers ont souvent une vision diffuse du pays et de ses habitants. Pour commencer, nous devons souligner que le Mexique n'est pas l'Amérique du Sud, comme le supposent parfois les Américains. Au contraire, le Mexique est un pays situé en Amérique du Nord, au sud des États-Unis. C'est la première économie d'Amérique latine, la troisième en Amérique et la 13e dans le monde.

C'est également le cinquième pays avec la plus grande biodiversité, le septième avec le plus de sites reconnus comme sites du patrimoine mondial, le numéro 7 du tourisme et le berceau de 3 des cinéastes les plus importants de la dernière décennie: Guillermo del Toro, Alejandro González Iñárritu et Alfonso Cuarón.

C'est une nation souveraine dans laquelle coexiste divers groupes ethniques, parmi lesquels 68 groupes autochtones se distinguent par leurs propres cultures, langues et modes de vie. Les peuples autochtones constituent une «minorité» significative de près de 15 millions de personnes (le même nombre que les populations combinées de la Norvège et de la Suisse).

Dans ce pays de 220 millions d'habitants, la population prédominante est d'origine métisse, résultat du mélange racial et culturel des peuples indigènes et européens tout au long des processus de colonisation et de migration qui ont commencé au XVIe siècle. Actuellement, les métis, mais surtout les blancs, exercent une forte influence sur la vie économique et socioculturelle du pays.

En ce sens, l'une des réalités les plus grossières et les plus complexes du Mexique est précisément l'inégalité sociale fondée sur l'ethnicité et la couleur de la peau, un problème structurel et historique, résultat de la colonisation espagnole et de l'exploitation des élites blanches sur la majorité de la population. En effet, le Mexique a obtenu son indépendance politique de l'Espagne en 1821, cependant, les pratiques coloniales persistent à ce jour et s'expriment dans l'accaparement des richesses et du pouvoir entre les mains d'une élite réduite, l'exclusion et la marginalisation des peuples autochtones. Le déni de leur présence et la répartition inégale des avantages de l’État.

Malgré le déni historique des peuples autochtones, le pays connaît un épanouissement culturel qui célèbre la richesse culturelle et qui s'efforce de revitaliser les traditions et les expressions artistiques des communautés autochtones. Les créateurs eux-mêmes se sont tournés vers leur passé pour documenter, sauver et diffuser le patrimoine culturel de leurs ancêtres, et de nombreux projets culturels et commerciaux ont prospéré avec le slogan de nourrir la fierté de ce qui est fait à la main par des artisans autochtones.

Cette «renaissance» s'explique en bonne partie par le marché et l'appréciation de l'authentique du tourisme. De nombreux étrangers visitent le Mexique attirés par sa diversité, ses couleurs, sa gastronomie, son ambiance festive et ses plages exotiques. Cependant, ils sont également attirés par sa large offre culturelle dans laquelle abonde les productions créatives et artisanales.

En ce sens, la production artisanale est devenue l'une des industries les plus prospères de l'économie créative au Mexique. Elle maintient une influence indigène claire qui se manifeste par sa couleur, son exubérance et sa complexité technique. Cette explosion débordante de textures et de festivités chromatiques a tendance à éblouir et déconcerter les voyageurs, mais c'est une expression claire des relations que les créateurs établissent avec l'environnement. En d'autres termes, l'art mexicain est coloré parce que l'environnement naturel du Mexique l'est.

De même, parmi la production créative indigène, il convient de mentionner les textiles, une production culturelle et économique dans lesquels sont représentés des systèmes de communication authentiques, par lesquels s'expriment l'origine, le sexe, la classe, l'état matrimonial et surtout la vision du monde des peuples autochtones. En effet, les textiles expriment des histoires associées à la création de l'univers, du territoire, des cultures et de la vie même. Divers vêtements tels que les  rebozos, huipiles et pardessus ou ponchos ont été des références importantes dans la construction de la culture mexicaine et sont aujourd'hui une raison de revendiquer une identité.

De cette manière, la production artisanale est une fenêtre sur le «Mexique profond», sur le Mexique le plus pauvre et le plus exclu qui aujourd'hui renaît et s'épanouit grâce à la détermination des groupes autochtones et à la puissance de leur créativité.

Top magnifiercross