According to the legend, the "feathered serpent" Quetzalcoatl - the main deity of several pre-Hispanic civilizations, gave the Toltecs the seeds of CACAO He said, "I am not a man of the people, but a man of the people, so that their people may be well fed, and so that they may become scholars and craftsmen. Then he asked Tláloc - the God of Rain - to send water to Earth for the plant to grow. Then he went to visit Xochiquetzal, goddess of love and beautyHe asked her to grow beautiful flowers on the plant. That's when cocoa appeared from the fruit.

Origin

According to cacaomexico.org, the Olmecs (1500-400 BC) were the first civilization in pre-Hispanic Mexico to taste and cultivate cocoa. They made the drink by grinding cocoa beans, adding water, spices and herbs.

The main areas of development of the Olmec culture are located in the southwest of Veracruz and in the west of Tabasco. They coincide with the main areas where cocoa is still cultivated for its special flavor.

After a few centuries, the cultivation of cocoa spread to the civilizations Maya and Aztec. Therefore, being better known, it is wrongly considered that the main regions where the Mayan civilization developed, namely the states of Campeche and Chiapas, are the origin of the cacao tree.

According to certain vestiges, the Aztecs prepared with the cocoa a bitter concoction reserved exclusively for the emperor, the nobles and the warriors.

Symbol of wealth

For pre-Hispanic civilizations, a cocoa pod was more valuable than a gold nugget. It was also used as currency in ancient Tenochtitlan.

It is said that Moctezuma, king of the MexicasThe company had accumulated up to 100 million cocoa beans.

His arrival in Europe

With the arrival of the Spaniards, they added chocolate, milk, sugar, cinnamon and other spices to the original cocoa-based drink. However, there were already drinks that included chocolate in the drink such as : Tascalate, Pozol, Champurrado, Tejate, Tanchuca, Popo and Bupu).

In 1528, Hernán Cortés returned to Spain with a cargo of cocoa beans, utensils and recipes for their preparation.

In 1615, cocoa arrived in France thanks to Louis XIII, then it travelled to Germany and England. A few years later, in 1659, the first chocolate factory was opened in Paris.

His entry in the dictionary

In 1724, the DRAE includes for the first time the definition of chocolate: "A drink made with the paste also called chocolate, which is composed of cocoa, sugar and cinnamon (although some may add vanilla and other ingredients).

CACAO vs COCOA

In 1753, Carl Linnaeus named the seed native to Mesoamerica Theobroma cacao.

While the bean is known as cocoa, cocoa is the product of processing the bean with the addition of additives. This is why cocoa can be found in powdered form in desserts, and why it is also found in chocolate bars and other derivatives.

Nowadays, pure cocoa (not cocoa) has gained a lot of popularity, being included in the vegan diet and being part of a healthy diet because it does not contain any additives or sugars. It is a natural food that has excellent properties for our body and health.

Cocoa in Mexican gastronomy

In addition to the drinks that are made in Mexico with cocoa, it is also an ingredient in some of the dishes of Mexican cuisine such as:

-The mole poblano: One of the many ingredients with which this delicious dish is prepared is chocolate.

-Chocolate TamalesThey are made with a mixture of cocoa, corn, almonds and nuts. They are wrapped in a corn leaf and can be dipped in a red fruit coulis.

-The Oaxacan EnchiladasTortillas: These are tortillas stuffed with chicken or turkey, wrapped in a taco shape and bathed in mole sauce. Cheese and cream can be added on top.

Cocoa is without a doubt one of the most important Mesoamerican contributions to the world. It is considered a superfood containing over 50 nutrients, including antioxidants and anti-inflammatories It is also an important symbol in pre-Hispanic mythology, so much so that it is mentioned in ancient codices such as the Popol Vuh.

The history of chocolate and its law

Influence of cocoa in Mexican gastronomy

cacaomexico.org

Top magnifycross

Selon la légende, le «Serpent à plumes» Quetzalcóatl - la principale divinité de plusieurs civilisations préhispaniques, a donné aux Toltèques les grains de CACAO pour que leur peuple soit bien nourri et qu'ils deviennent ainsi des érudits et des artisans. Puis, il demanda à Tláloc - le Dieu de la pluie - d'envoyer de l'eau sur Terre pour que la plante pousse. Ensuite,  il est allé rendre visite à Xochiquetzal, déesse de l'amour et de la beauté, et lui a demandé de faire pousser de belles fleurs sur la plante. C'est alors que le cacao est apparu à partir des fruits.

Origine

Selon cacaomexico.org, les Olmèques (1500-400 avant JC) ont été la première civilisation du Mexique préhispanique à goûter et à cultiver le cacao. Ils ont élaboré la boisson en broyant les fèves de cacao, en ajoutant de l'eau, des épices et des herbes.

Les principales zones de développement de la culture olmèque se situent au sud-ouest de Veracruz et à l'ouest de Tabasco. Elles coïncident avec les principaux endroits où le cacao est encore cultivé pour sa saveur si particulière.

Après quelques siècles, la culture du cacao s'est étendue aux civilisations Maya et Aztèque. Par conséquent, étant plus connues, on considère à tord que les principales régions où la civilisation Maya s'est développée, à savoir les États de Campeche et du Chiapas sont à l'origine du cacaotier.

Selon certains vestiges, les Aztèques préparaient avec le cacao une concoction amère réservée exclusivement à l'empereur, aux nobles et aux guerriers.

Symbole de richesse

Pour les civilisations préhispaniques, une cabosse de cacao était plus précieuse qu'une pépite d'or.  Elle était également utilisée comme monnaie d'échange dans l'ancien Tenochtitlan.

On dit que Moctezuma, roi des Mexicas, avait cumulé jusqu'à 100 millions de fèves de cacao.

Son arrivée en Europe

Avec l'arrivée des Espagnols, ils ont ajouté le chocolat, le lait, du sucre, de la cannelle et autres épices à la boisson d'origine à base de cacao. Il existait toutefois déjà des boissons qui incluaient le chocolat dans la boisson comme : Tascalate, Pozol, Champurrado, Tejate, Tanchuca, Popo et Bupu).

En 1528, Hernán Cortés retourna en Espagne avec une cargaison de fèves de cacao, des ustensiles et des recettes pour la préparation.

En 1615, le cacao arrive en France grâce à Louis XIII, puis, il parcourt l'Allemagne et l'Angleterre. Quelques années plus tard, en 1659, la première chocolaterie est ouverte à Paris.

Son entrée dans le dictionnaire

En 1724, le DRAE intègre pour la première fois la définition du chocolat: "Boisson faite avec la pâte également appelée chocolat, qui est composée de cacao, de sucre et de cannelle (bien que certains puissent ajouter de la vanille et d'autres ingrédients".

CACAO vs COCOA

En 1753, Carl Linnaeus nomma la graine originaire de Méso-Amérique Theobroma cacao.

Alors que la fève est connue sous le nom de cacao, le cocoa est le produit issu de la transformation de la graine avec l'ajout d'additifs. C'est pourquoi on peut trouver du cocoa sous forme de poudre pour préparer des desserts, et qu'on le trouve également dans les tablettes de chocolat et autres dérivés.

À l'heure actuelle, le cacao (et pas le cocoa) pur a gagné beaucoup en popularité, en étant inclus dans le régime végétalien et faisant parti d'une alimentation saine car il ne contient ni additifs ni sucres. C'est un aliment naturel qui a d'excellentes propriétés pour notre corps et notre santé.

Le cacao dans la gastronomie mexicaine

En plus des boissons qui sont fabriquées au Mexique avec du cacao, c'est également un ingrédient dans certains plats de la cuisine mexicaine tels que:

-Le mole poblano: L'un des nombreux ingrédients avec lesquels ce délicieux plat est préparé est le chocolat.

-Les Tamales au chocolat: Ils sont élaborés avec un mélange de cacao, de maïs, des amandes et des noix. Ils sont enveloppés dans une feuille de maïs et peuvent être baignés dans un coulis de fruits rouges.

-Les Enchiladas Oaxaqueñas: Ce sont des tortillas farcies au poulet ou à la dinde, enveloppées en forme de taco et baignées de sauce mole. Du fromage et de la crème peuvent être ajoutés sur le dessus.

Le cacao est sans aucun doute l'une des contributions mésoaméricaines les plus importantes au monde. Il est considéré comme un super aliment contenant plus de 50 nutriments, dont des antioxydants et des anti-inflammatoires. C'est aussi un symbole important de la mythologie préhispanique, à tel point qu'il est mentionné dans d'anciens codex tels que le Popol Vuh.

La historia del chocolate y su leyenda

Influencia del cacao en la gastronomía mexicana

cacaomexico.org

Top magnifiercross